Idiot's Guide to 'Game of Thrones'

"Game of Thrones" is a complex and sprawling fantasy television series based on George R.R. Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire" novels. With its intricate plotlines, numerous characters, and political intrigue, it can be challenging to keep track of everything. Here's a simplified guide to help you understand the basics

1. The Seven Kingdoms

The story is set in the fictional continent of Westeros, which consists of several regions and kingdoms.

The Iron Throne is the ultimate goal, as it represents the ruler of all Seven Kingdoms.

2. The Great Houses

Powerful noble families known as Great Houses vie for control of the Iron Throne.

Key Great Houses include the Starks, Lannisters, Baratheons, Targaryens, and Greyjoys.

3. Characters to Know

Ned Stark The honorable Lord of Winterfell in the North.

Daenerys Targaryen The last surviving member of the Targaryen dynasty, exiled in Essos.

Jon Snow Ned Stark's illegitimate son, who joins the Night's Watch.

Tyrion Lannister A witty and intelligent dwarf from House Lannister.

Cersei Lannister Queen and member of House Lannister.

Jaime Lannister Cersei's twin brother, known as the Kingslayer.

Arya Stark Ned Stark's youngest daughter, training to become an assassin.

Sansa Stark Ned Stark's eldest daughter, initially betrothed to Joffrey Baratheon.

Joffrey Baratheon Crowned king, but secretly born of incest within House Lannister.

4. The Wall and the Night's Watch

The Wall is a massive ice structure guarding the northern border of Westeros.

The Night's Watch is a sworn brotherhood tasked with defending the Wall from threats beyond it, including the White Walkers.

5. Dragons and Magic

Dragons were thought to be extinct until Daenerys Targaryen hatches three dragon eggs.

Magic and supernatural elements play a significant role in the story.

6. Political Intrigue

The series is marked by political maneuvering, betrayals, and alliances among the Great Houses.

The War of the Five Kings is a central conflict, with multiple contenders vying for power.

7. Key Locations

King's Landing The capital of Westeros, home to the Iron Throne.

Winterfell The ancestral seat of House Stark.

Dragonstone The island stronghold of House Targaryen.

Essos A continent east of Westeros, where Daenerys begins her journey.

8. Religion and Faith

The Faith of the Seven is the dominant religion in Westeros.

The Lord of Light, worshipped by some characters, is associated with magic and resurrection.

9. The Night King

The Night King is the leader of the White Walkers, supernatural beings threatening all of humanity.

10. The Red Wedding

A pivotal event involving House Stark and House Frey, marked by betrayal and bloodshed.

This guide provides a simplified overview of "Game of Thrones," but the series is known for its intricate storytelling and character development. Watching the show or reading the books will provide a more in-depth understanding of the rich and complex world of Westeros.


Video: "Idiot's Guide to 'Game of Thrones'"