Super Follow-Ups: Can the Patriots Repeat?
Super Follow-Ups: Can the Patriots Repeat?

The New England Patriots won their fourth Super Bowl title last season with a 28-24 victory over the Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl XLIX.

But can the Patriots repeat?

According to the Super Bowl Curse, the answer is probably no.

The Super Bowl Curse, also known as the Super Bowl Hangover refers to teams who do not repeat as Super Bowl champions. In fact, defending Super Bowl champions seldom return to the title game the following year. And the probability of not making the playoffs is even higher.

Here's a summary of what happened to defending Super Bowl Champions the following season:


Source: NFL
Won Super Bowl8 (17.0%)
Lost Super Bow3 (6.4%)
Lost Conference Final6 (12.7%)
Lost Divisional Game12 (25.5%)
Lost Wild Card3 (6.4%)
Missed Playoffs:5 (31.9%)
Average Winning %.667


Here's how past Super Bowl winners have fared the following season.


Season Super Bowl Champion Next Season
Source: NFL
1966IGreen BayWon Super Bowl
1967IIGreen BayMissed playoffs
1968IIINew York JetsLost in first round
1969IVKansas CityMissed playoffs
1970VBaltimoreLost AFC Championship Game
1971VIDallasLost NFC Championship Game
1972VIIMiamiWon Super Bowl
1973VIIIMiamiLost in first round
1974IXPittsburghWon Super Bowl
1975XPittsburghLost AFC Championship Game
1976XIOaklandLost AFC Championship Game
1977XIIDallasLost Super Bowl
1978XIIIPittsburghWon Super Bowl
1979XIVPittsburghMissed playoffs
1980XVOaklandMissed playoffs
1981XVISan FranciscoMissed playoffs
1982XVIIWashingtonLost Super Bowl
1983XVIIIL.A. RaidersLost Wild Card Game
1984XIXSan FranciscoLost Wild Card Game
1985XXChicagoLost NFC Divisional Playoff Game
1986XXINew York GiantsMissed playoffs
1987XXIIWashingtonMissed playoffs
1988XXIIISan FranciscoWon Super Bowl
1989XXIVSan FranciscoLost NFC Championship Game
1990XXVNew York GiantsMissed playoffs
1991XXVIWashingtonLost NFC Divisional Playoff Game
1992XXVIIDallasWon Super Bowl
1993XXVIIIDallasLost NFC Championship Game
1994XXIXSan FranciscoLost NFC Divisional Playoff Game
1995XXXDallasLost NFC Divisional Playoff Game
1996XXXIGreen BayLost Super Bowl
1997XXXIIDenverWon Super Bowl
1998XXXIIIDenverMissed playoffs
1999XXXIVSt. LouisLost Wild Card Game
2000XXXVBaltimoreLost AFC Divisional Playoff Game
2001XXXVINew EnglandMissed playoffs
2002XXXVIITampa BayMissed playoffs
2003XXXVIIINew EnglandWon Super Bowl
2004XXXIXNew EnglandLost AFC Divisional Playoff Game
2005XLPittsburghMissed playoffs
2006XLIIndianapolisLost AFC Divisional Playoff Game
2007XLIINew York GiantsLost NFC Divisional Playoff Game
2008XLIIIPittsburghMissed playoffs
2009XLIVNew OrleansLost NFC Wild Card Game
2010XLVGreen BayLost NFC Divisional Playoff Game
2011XLVINew York GiantsMissed playoffs
2012XLVIIBaltimoreMissed playoffs
2013XLVIIISeattleLost Super Bowl

Article: Copyright ©

NFL Football: "Super Follow-Ups: Can the Patriots Repeat?"