2014 NFL Draft Notes
2014 NFL Draft Notes

No. 1 D-Linemen

Houston selected DE Jadeveon Clowney with the No. 1 overall pick of the 2014 NFL Draft, marking the first time a defensive lineman has been chosen first overall since 2006 (Mario Williams, Houston).

Clowney is the 14th defensive lineman in NFL history to be selected with the No. 1 overall pick and only the second player from South Carolina to be chosen No. 1 overall (George Rogers, 1981).

Defensive Linemen -- No. 1 Overall Selections (All-Time)

Year Player Team College
Source: NFL
1963Buck BuchananKansas CityGrambling
1967Bubba SmithBaltimore ColtsMichigan State
1972Walt PatulskiBuffaloNotre Dame
1973John MatuszakHoustonTampa
1974Ed JonesDallasTennessee State
1976Lee Roy SelmonTampa BayOklahoma
1982Kenneth SimsNew EnglandTexas
1985Bruce SmithBuffaloVirginia Tech
1991Russell MarylandDallasMiami
1992Steve EmtmanIndianapolisWashington
1994Dan WilkinsonCincinnatiOhio State
2000Courtney BrownClevelandPenn State
2006Mario WilliamsHoustonNorth Carolina State
2014Jadeveon ClowneyHoustonSouth Carolina


Top Tiger

Selected No. 4 overall by the Buffalo Bills, Clemson WR Sammy Watkins is the second wide receiver in school history to be drafted in the top 10, joining JERRY BUTLER (1979, 5th overall). Watkins is also the fifth Clemson wide receiver to be drafted in the first round.

Clemson WRs Selected in First Round (All-Time)

Year Player Pick Team
Source: NFL
1979Jerry Butler5Buffalo Bills
1982Perry Tuttle19Buffalo Bills
2001Rod Gardner15Washington
2013DeAndre Hopkins27Houston Texans
2014Sammy Watkins4Buffalo Bills


Clemson is the fifth school in draft history to have a wide receiver selected in the first round in consecutive years. In 2013, WR De Andre Hopkins was selected 27th overall by Houston.

The schools to have wide receivers selected in Round 1 in consecutive years:

College First-Round Wide Receivers (Years)
Source: NFL
TennesseeAnthony Hancock (1982), Willie Gault (1983), Clyde Duncan (1984)
Southern CaliforniaCurtis Conway (1993), Johnnie Morton (1994)
ColoradoCharles Johnson (1994), Michael Westbrook (1995)
Ohio StateJoey Galloway (1995), Terry Glenn (1996)
Ohio StateSantonio Holmes (2006), Ted Ginn Jr. (2007), Anthony Gonzalez (2007)
ClemsonDeAndre Hopkins (2013), Sammy Watkins (2014)


Hey Pop!

With his selection by the Atlanta Falcons with the No. 6 overall pick in the NFL 2014 Draft, Texas A&M tackle Jake Matthews joins an exclusive NFL club.

Matthews becomes the 10th son of a Pro Football Hall of Fame player/coach to be drafted into the league. Jake follows his father Bruce (HOF, 2007). Bruce Matthews, a guard, was drafted out of Southern California by the Houston Oilers in the first round (No. 9 overall) in 1982.

Jake Matthews is the fourth son of a Hall of Famer to be drafted in the first round, joining Chris and Kyle Long snd Kellen Winslow.

The Hall of Fame father/drafted son rundown:

Hall of Fame Father (Year Inducted) Drafted Son(s) (Team, Year)
Source: NFL
LB Bobby Bell (1983)LB Bobby Bell, Jr. (N.Y. Jets, 1984)
RB Tony Dorsett (1994)CB Anthony Dorsett (Houston, 1996)
QB Bob Griese (1990)QB Brian Griese (Denver, 1998)
G Russ Grimm (2010)S Cody Grimm (Tampa Bay, 2010)
DT Howie Long (2000)DE Chris Long (St. Louis, 2008), G Kyle Long (Chicago, 2013)
G Bruce Matthews (2007)T Jake Matthews (Atlanta, 2014)
RB-DB/Coach Don Shula (1997)QB Mike Shula (Tampa Bay, 1987)
T Jackie Slater (2001)WR Matthew Slater (New England 2008)
TE Kellen Winslow (1995)TE Kellen Winslow (Cleveland, 2004)


Quick Hits: Other items of note from the Draft

QB Blake Bortles (Jacksonville, No. 3) was selected earlier than any other player in Central Florida history. He joins QB Daunte Culpepper (1999, No. 11 overall, Minnesota) as the only players in school history to be chosen in Round 1.

LB Khalil Mack (Oakland, No. 5) is the first player from the University of Buffalo to be drafted in Round 1.

Three Louisville players were selected in Round 1 of an NFL Draft for the first time in history -- S Calvin Pryor (No. 18, Jets), QB Teddy Bridgewater (No. 32, Minnesota) and LB Marcus Smith (No. 26, Philadelphia).

Getting Defensive

Nine defensive backs were selected in Round 1 of the 2014 NFL Draft, the most of any first round in NFL Draft history. The previous record of seven occurred three times (1998, 2006 and 2013).

The record-setting nine defensive backs drafted in Round 1:

Defensive Back Team (Pick) College
Source: NFL
Justin GilbertCleveland (8)Oklahoma State
Kyle FullerChicago (14)Virginia Tech
Calvin PryorJets (18)Louisville
Ha Ha Clinton-DixGreen Bay (21)Alabama
Darqueze DennardCincinnati (24)Michigan State
Jason VerrettSan Diego (25)Texas Christian
Deone BucannonArizona (27)Washington State
Jimmie WardSan Francisco (30)Northern Illinois
Bradley RobyDenver (31)Ohio State


SEC Flavor

The Southeastern Conference had 11 players drafted in Round 1 of the 2014 NFL Draft, the most of any conference.

Since 2000, the SEC leads all conferences with 607 total draft choices:

Conference Draft Picks
Source: NFL
Big Ten488
Big XII384


Awesome Aggies

A pair of Texas A&M teammates -- T Jake Matthews (Atlanta, No. 6) and WR Mike Evans (No. 7, Tampa Bay) -- were selected back-to back early in Round 1. This marks the first time in school history two Aggies have been selected with back-to-back top 10 picks.

Consecutive Top 10 Choices from the same College

Year College Player (Pick)
Source: NFL
1937NebraskaHB Lloyd Cardwell (7) and E Les McDonald (8)
1943MinnesotaHB Bill Daley (7) and T Dick Wildung (8)
1946Notre DameQB Johnny Lujack (4) and T George Connor (5)
1948AlabamaHB Lowell Tew (4) and C Vaughn Mancha (5)
1949Notre DameQB Frank Tripucka (9) and G Bill Fischer (10)
1949Southern MethodistRB Doak Walker (3) and HB Paul Page (4)
1959Ohio StateHB Don Clark (7) and C Dan James (8)
1967Michigan StateDT Bubba Smith (1) and RB Clint Jones (2)
1977Southern CaliforniaT Marvin Powell (4) and DT Gary Jeter (5)
1978Notre DameTE Ken MacAfee (7) and DT Ross Browner (8)
1981UCLARB Freeman McNeil (3) and DB Kenny Easley (4)
1984NebraskaWR Irving Fryar (1) and T Dean Steinkuhler (2)
1990Southern CaliforniaLB Junior Seau (5) and DB Mark Carrier (6)
1991NebraskaDB Bruce Pickens (3) and LB Mike Croel (4)
1991TennesseeT Charles McRae (7) and T Antone Davis (8)
1992StanfordT Bob Whitfield (8) and RB Tommy Vardell (9)
1993AlabamaDE John Copeland (5) and DE Eric Curry (6)
1996IllinoisLB Kevin Hardy (2) and DE Simeon Rice (3)
2000Penn StateDE Courtney Brown (1) and LB LaVar Arrington (2)
2002TexasT Mike Williams (4) and DB Quentin Jammer (5)
2004MiamiS Sean Taylor (5) and TE Kellen Winslow (6)
2010OklahomaDT Gerald McCoy (3) and T Trent Williams (4)
2013AlabamaDB Dee Milliner (9) and G Chance Warmack (10)
2014Texas A&MT Jake Matthews (6) and WR Mike Evans (7)


NFL Football News & Analysis [...]

Article: Copyright ©

2014 NFL Draft Notes