by Paula David

New York, NY

Now on its 28th year, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation has announced the nominees for the 2013 induction.

In a press release, Joel Peresman, President and CEO of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, said, "The definition of 'rock and roll' means different things to different people, but as broad as the classifications may be, they all share a common love of the music. This year we again proudly put forth a fantastic array of groups and artists that span the entire genre that is 'rock and roll'."

To be qualified or the honor, an individual artist or a band "must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination," according the Rock and Roll Hall of fame's official website, meaning the nominees for 2013 should have released their first single 1987 or earlier.

A group of 600 artists, historians and members of the music industry from all over the world served as the voting body.

The complete list of nominees is as follows:

- Albert King

- Chic

- Deep Purple

- Donna Summer

- Heart

- Joan Jett and the Blackhearts

- Kraftwerk

- The Marvelettes

- The Meters

- N.W.A

- The Paul Butterfield Blues Band

- Procol Harum

- Public Enemy

- Randy Newman

- Rush

The 2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on April 18, 2013 at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles and will be broadcast on HBO, the date of which will be announced at a later date.

Nominees for 2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Announced

Article: © Tribune Media Services, Inc.