Wellington, New Zealand

Steve Williams, who carried Tiger Woods' golf bag for 12 years, believes that the world's No. 1 player should have been disqualified for taking an illegal drop during the Masters last week at Augusta National.

During an interview with 3 News in his native New Zealand, Williams said that while Woods was not trying to gain anything on the field, he should have been disqualified nonetheless. Woods eventually finished in a tie for fourth in the tournament.

"From what I can gather, he took an illegal drop, signed a scorecard and left the course," said Williams, who was Woods' caddie when he won 72 victories worldwide and 13 major titles.

"Under most circumstances that would result in disqualification. If the rules of golf are upheld, I believe he should have been disqualified," added Williams, who helped Adam Scott won the Masters last weekend.

Woods was seen to have taken an improper drop on the 15th hole during the second round last Friday after his approach shot hit the pin and bounced back into the water. He tallied a bogey-6 on the hole, which the following morning was revised to a triple-bogey 8.

However, under new rules enacted by the United States Golf Association and R&A in 2011, a player can have penalty strokes added afterward when facts were not reasonably presented at the time of scorecard signing.

A television viewer alerted Masters officials of Woods' illegal drop, something Williams believes should not be allowed.

"I don't think people should be able to phone in and have any kind of effect on a golf tournament," Williams said. "I don't think people should be able to sit back and have an outcome on a tournament."

Article: Copyright © iHaveNet.com.

Tiger Should have been Disqualified for Illegal Drop